The Dawson County Commissioners met for a regular meeting on Friday, December 29th. 
Treasurer’s Receipts in the amount of $199,573.82 were approved as submitted. The Total Claims in the amount of $1,050,808.55 were also approved as presented.
Under Committee Reports, Commissioner Butch Hagan reported that Miller & Associates had attended the landfill meeting. Bid proposals will be drafted at the next meeting for the landfill expansion and published in local news media for three weeks.
Dawson County Zoning Administrator Pam Holbrook informed the commissioners that the zoning regulations are continuing to be updated. 
“We have collaborated with Marvin & Associates for a complete rewrite of the zoning regulations document and is a slow process,” Holbrook shared with the board.
“We are in the final stages of the new document that will first be submitted to the Board of Commissioners for their approval, followed by public hearings and then enforcement,” Holbrook continued.
Deputy County Attorney Jared Dean noted that during his brief tenure thus far he has located several flood plain regulation issues. It is his goal to enforce these regulation offenses by taking legal action vs. the offending parties.
Dawson County Sheriff Gary Reiber inquired where the enforcement for these offenses would lie and was informed that they would go through the county attorney’s office and then proceed with civil actions; not criminal actions against the offending parties. Only nuisances will go through the Sheriff’s Department.
The following appointments were approved from the Commissioners Districts to the County Extension Board: Commissioner District 1 – Amanda Rossell was reappointed, Commissioner District 2 – D‘Lacy Lans will be replacing Carlie Fellers, Commissioner District 3 – Joe Gangwish will be replacing Travis Edeal, Commissioner District 4 – Ann Smith was reappointed and Commissioner District 5 – Massiel Solis will replace Patsy Meyer.
The interlocal agreement between County of Dawson and County of Jefferson to house inmates in the Dawson County Jail was approved. Jefferson County, (county seat being Fairbury, NE) had already signed the agreement and Sheriff Reiber was authorized to sign the agreement. ]
“We basically take their overflow inmates that doesn’t amount to many inmates,” Reiber noted.
The final item of business involved approving a resolution for the Conservation Easement between Central Platte Natural Resources District and Dalankco, LLC. 
Zoning Administration Holbrook noted that this resolution had to go through the planning commission and involves the perpetual surface water rights on a 16.5 acre property south and to the west of the Darr interchange. 
The planning commission received no negative comments on the resolution and it is a carbon copy of the last agreement.
District 2 Commissioner Bill Stewart has announced his candidacy for a sixth term in 2018. Stewart is currently starting his fifth term and 20th year in 2018. Stewart, a Republican, will be on the May primary ballot only if there is another Republican candidate to apply for the position. If not, his name will automatically appear on the November general election ballot in addition to a Democratic candidate should there be one to file.
The board members took visitation of the Dawson County Jail.
The Dawson County Board of Equalization met prior to the Dawson County Commissioners meeting.
Tax corrections were approved for parcels owned by K & M LTD, Kenneth Hanks, Alan Smith, Virgil Coryell and Jerry Byrns. Receiving tax corrections on personal property were Sabin Enterprises, Inc., Farm Bureau GB and John Miller ETAL.
Board members also discussed tax foreclosures on properties delinquent since 2012 as presented by Deputy County Attorney Jared Dean.
The first case involved two lots owned by Ms. Nancy C. Canas. She will be notified, as she may not be aware that she even owns these small lots.
The second case involves a storage building on leased land that happens to be on a railroad right-of-way. Edwin Mc Donald owns this building. The railroad will be notified.
A resolution was approved for the above tax sales certificates.
The statutory meeting for the Dawson County Board of Commissioners is scheduled for Tuesday, January 16, 2018 beginning at 8 a.m. in the County Commissioners Room located in the Dawson County Courthouse in Lexington, NE.