Every vote is going to count in the TRIBUNE-Area as there are many highly contested races in the upcoming 2018 Election, as the deadline to become a candidate has now passed. 
For Dawson County races, the contested race that comes to the forefront is for County Sheriff where Ken Moody of Gothenburg and Mike Hudson of Cozad are the candidates to fill the vacancy as a result of current Sheriff Gary Reiber stepping down from the position. 
Running uncontested in Dawson County four year term positions are incumbents: John Phillip Moore (Assessor), Elizabeth Waterman (Attorney), Karla Zlatkovsky (Clerk), Becky Boryca (Clerk of the District Court), Bill Stewart (Commissioner District II), Dennis Rickertsen (Commissioner District III), Dian Lauby (Register of Deeds), Mark Streit (Surveyor) and Victoria Clements (Treasurer). 
In the City of Cozad, incumbents: Deb Leahy (East Ward) and Brian Montgomery (West Ward) refiled to be voted onto the City Council. 
Cozad Mayor Nancy Meyer has refiled for her current position A trio of challengers: Marcus Kloepping, Audie Taylor and Bob Anderson have all filed for the position of mayor of Cozad as well. 
In Gothenburg the incumbents have refiled to fill their current positions with Jay Richeson (East Ward), Verlin Janssen (West Ward) and Joyce Hudson (Mayor) all being listed on the ballot. 
For the City of Lexington there are currently three positions coming up for re-election. Incumbents John Salem and John Fagot are both looking to be re-elected for their four year terms. Incumbent Steve Smith is the lone person to file for the two-year term opening. 
There are currently three open seats on the Cozad Community Hospital Foundation Board with Incumbent Al Svajgr refiling along with new candidates Bill Wilkinson and Cindy Finnegan looking to be elected. 
For the Lexington Regional Hospital Board there are two openings with a pair of incumbents: Kenneth Harbison and Amber Ackerson both refiling for their seats. 
There are three openings on the Cozad Community Schools Board of Education with a pair of incumbents John Peden and Edd Albrecht being joined by Kiley Goff and Judy Eggleston as the candidates. 
Gothenburg Public Schools has three openings on their School Board with all three incumbents: Jon Hudson, Devin Brundage and Nathan Wyatt looking to be re-elected. 
The Lexington Board of Education has three openings with a pair of incumbents: Roger Reutlinger and Travis Maloley being joined by candidate Garth Mins to be members of the School Board. 
Looking to fill six year terms as elected members of their local Airport Authorities are many individuals. In Cozad there are two positions up for election, Roger Clark and Rodney Donner are both incumbents that refiled for their positions. For Gothenburg there are two positions open, Dave Collins is an incumbent that refiled whereas Kyle Beyea is a new candidate for the position.  Jason Lawless was the lone individual to file for the Lexington Airport Authority position. 
There are many contested races to elected positions within the TRIBUNE-Area, so stay tuned to future issues of the Tri-City Tribune to learn more about the candidates.